La Douleur Exquise

La Douleur Exquise by Samantha Landon

It’s that burning pain when you give her the same look I give you,
It clenches on my heart, like iron bonds, and doesn’t let go.
I am happy for you,
But I don’t know if my heart will ever love again.

Her smile is bright and lights up the room,
Her hair is silky and flows gracefully in the wind,
She can turn a room merry, that was once gloom,
Her hands are clean, like an angel, she has not sinned as I have.

Is that why you love her?
I’m sorry I will never be good enough to make you happy,
But please know, no matter how much you love another,
I will always go those extra billion miles to make smile.

J’taime…

44 thoughts on “La Douleur Exquise

  1. You are a Pro. Also written very beautifully. This is very heart felt, to love someone when they love someone else. Tis better to love ones self and find a love who will love them like they desire to be loved. Thank you so much for sharing with me.

      • Yes, I’m so very glad to hear that you have never felt unrequited love. Everyone deserves love that is reciprocated. I also, know exactly what it’s like to have a phrase or words stuck in your head. It’s a must you do something with them. Like being in bed at night, and you jump up because you’ve got a phrase to a poem/song in the works. Lol πŸ™‚

      • Yeah, but I know that will probably happen someday, and I won’t try and avoid it because it’s a lesson in life.
        The phrase was just so beautiful and heartbreaking that I had to write this, to dedicate it to all those who had felt this.

      • It will only happen if you allow it. I agree with you, It is a very beautiful phrase. And such a kind gesture. You are such a thoughtful person. Bless you always. πŸ™‚

      • Thank you πŸ™‚ I don’t think that unrequited love is bad, no love that someone means is bad. I believe it’s more like bittersweet chocolate, because no matter how much you try to forget that person, they always remind you of a time you were happy, but it also reminds you that the other person didn’t feel the same way.
        Love is complicated, because it heals and hurts, but it either way, it made you happy at some point.

      • Kmsl, love the Sheepish Grin!! πŸ™‚ But I’m so very glad to know that…its the kind of love we all should feel. It’s a great comfort to me that my family and I are extremely close. I love those folks lol πŸ™‚ Many Blessings To You πŸ™‚

      • And to you to my dear friend πŸ™‚
        Which reminds me, you were one of my very first followers so thank you so much πŸ™‚
        Oh, and I would love to take another request!

      • Aww, from my heart you are welcome. I can’t think of anything right at this moment. If it’s not too much trouble. I’ll think on that request. Thanks a lot!! πŸ™‚

  2. I just noticed!!!! You were following me & I wasn’t ‘following’ you?! Silly of me not to notice. Definitely following you now! I am a fan of your poetry.

    Cor!!! I love how you express yourself with this NEW poem! This is truly masterfully written, from the heart! Samantha! Great job.

Leave a Reply

